Manchester United striker, Edinson Cavani has been charged with misconduct by the FA FA for using racial term on Instagram.
The FA stated: “Edinson Cavani has been charged with misconduct for a breach of FA Rule E3, in relation to a social media post on Sunday 29 November 2020.
“It is alleged that, contrary to FA Rule E3.1, a comment posted on the Manchester United FC player’s Instagram page was insulting and/or abusive and/or improper and/or brought the game into disrepute.
“It is further alleged that the comment constitutes an ‘Aggravated Breach’, which is defined in FA Rule E3.2, as it included a reference, whether express or implied, to colour and/or race and/or ethnic origin.
“The striker has until Monday 4 January 2021 to provide a response to the charge.”
The charge comes the FA disciplinary committee launched a probe into the Instagram message after the Uruguayan scored twice to help Manchester United to a 3-2 comeback win against Southampton last month.
A fan posted ‘Asi te queiro Matador’ in Spanish, which translates to: “I love you, Matador!” Cavani then replied on his Instagram story: “Gracias Negrito!”, a Spanish term which translates as ‘black’.
Manchester United issued the following statement in response: “Manchester United and all of our players are fully committed to the fight against racism and we will continue to work with the FA – along with other governing bodies and organisations, and through our own campaigns – in that regard.
“We note the FA decision today to charge Edinson Cavani for his social media reply to a friend’s message of congratulations, following the Southampton game.
“Edinson and the club were clear that there was absolutely no malicious intent behind the message, which he deleted and apologised for, as soon as he was informed that it could have been misconstrued.
“The player and the club will now consider the charge and respond to the FA accordingly.”
Edinson Cavani could be hit with a possible three-match ban and a fine.